BOOK REVIEW: CITY OF BONES (Mortal Instruments #1) by CASSANDRA CLARE

YA isn’t really my thing, but I did quite enjoy this. Certainly, the book is not without its flaws, one being lack of originality with obvious similarities to Harry Potter and Underworld, there is still a lot of creativity, fun and magic penned on the pages. There were some engrossing moments and the pacing made me want to keep reading, waiting to see what happens next.

No, it’s not high-brow material, but it is low-fantasy, and in that arena, this novel stands out. I’m not going to say it is a great book, but it certainly isn’t a bad one; and, in a genre that is becoming formulaic, cliché and watered down with a slew of retellings, at least City of Bones brings something with some substance to the table.

If you want to read something that’s just a fun adventure, I recommend it.

3.75 out of 5.

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: CITY OF BONES (Mortal Instruments #1) by CASSANDRA CLARE

  1. I started the book but I just wasn’t into it. I gravitate more towards books in the first person.

    However, I really liked the movie! I’ve watched it a few times.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

