POEM: SUMMER WALK

It’s hot at night

The air is thick

Heavy and dense

It makes me sick

Old fireflies

Light the way

Through trees that sigh

Whisper and sway

 

The night is young

Summer’s talk

Rests on my tongue

As I walk

Between the fences

And the homes

I lose my senses

As I roam.

 

A sheet of blue

Surrounds the sky

Its evening hue

Its yellow eye

Disguise the night

A phantom face

Beyond the light

I can’t embrace

 

I walk the street

Its carnival

Of concrete

My feet will crawl

Caught up in

Another brawl

With the wind

That I hear call

 

Now take this moon

Far away

With a harpoon

Make it stay

I don’t care

For all this sun

Walking everywhere

Since I can’t run.

Leave a Reply

