POEM: THE PICTURE ON THE WALL

There’s a picture on the wall

That was hanging in the hall

I hope it doesn’t fall.

 

If it hits the floor

I’ll nail it to the door

And it won’t fall no more

 

The picture is so old

Faded white from gold

Much too frail to hold

 

So many years ago

In a time that I don’t know

To a place I’d never go

 

Was it black or white?

Was it day or night?

Was it wrong or right?

 

It’s so hard to tell

I wish it never fell

I’ve got to find a nail

 

To put it back in place

I still know that face

But it’s been displaced

 

By something more content

So much less Hell-bent

On being so distant

 

It was a different time

I still know the chime

The street and all its grime

 

I still see the shade

Where the tears cascade

Where the bed was made

 

Looking down at Hell

Just beyond the bell

Again, the picture fell.

3 thoughts on “POEM: THE PICTURE ON THE WALL

Leave a Reply

