POEM: YESTERDAY IS EVERY DAY OF THE WEEK TODAY, BUT I CAN’T SAY–HEY, HEY (GO AWAY)

I think it rains every time I step outside with a jacket

I go back in and the sun starts shining

I open the window and then it begins to snow

I can’t trust the weather

Mother Nature is out to get me.

 

Every time I turn out the light, the stars forget to shine

The moon hides behind the house

Until I turn on the light, then it blazes like the sun

I am blind but I can see in the dark.

 

Oh boy, what can I do when I lie down in a bed with no blankets?

And when I find blankets I lose my mattress somewhere?

On the floor, I find my pillows stacked up in a row

I forgot to put a new sheet on my bed, anyway

 

The ground is falling and I can’t help but see

The sky is sinking into the rivers on ice

Summer blizzards of a dry rain in a still wind

Burn frozen flowers with a sprinkle of a cloud

I can’t hear the thunder when it’s that loud

 

The lightning flashes in the dark

A black bolt of emptiness in a yellow sky

Now it’s time for spring to blow its dead leaves

And for the fall to bring us warm autumn rains

 

I was born a dead man in a bed of violet roses

Through eyes that hear hateful love

And ears that see a loving hate

We are all born to die when we are just dying to live

 

A king is just a jester someone handed a crown

And a throne that he can stand upon to see a lonely crowd

Give him some eggs to juggle and he will be the law

And he’ll break every shell and sit down in the corner

 

Look up in the air and you will see the canyon

Ready to blow out stardust in a mesocyclone quake

The mountains all have eyeballs swallowing their lips

Feet breaking against the tide like diamonds made of teeth

 

Every time I walk outside, the lights blow in my house

I climb the roof in the basement and sit on the chimney steps

I turn the knob that locks the window

And make sure I put the chain on my floor

Then I ring the doorbell from the attic

And flush the toilet down the sink

 

Yesterday you asked me an answer

To the question I gave you from abroad

I made a statement without your words

I wrote it down on the phone

Then I called you with my letter

And burned it in my broken glass

Guess if I stand here long enough

It will stop raining inside my coat.

 

But I wouldn’t hold my throat.

One thought on “POEM: YESTERDAY IS EVERY DAY OF THE WEEK TODAY, BUT I CAN’T SAY–HEY, HEY (GO AWAY)

Leave a Reply

